Your Annual Meeting



The Annual Meeting of the members of Empire Electric Association, Inc., will be held in Cortez, Colorado at Empire’s Calvin Denton Room at 801 N. Broadway, beginning at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, June 20, 2019, to transact the following business:

  1. Election of directors submitted by written petition pursuant to Article III Section 4 of the cooperative’s bylaws.  One director is to be elected from the following districts:

            DISTRICT NO. 2  [Two-years to fulfill remaining term]

            DISTRICT NO. 5  [Four-year term]

            DISTRICT NO. 6  [Four-year term]                                                       

            (NOTE:  Article III, Section 4 of Empire’s bylaws states, “Should there be only one nomination from each district open for election then no ballots will be mailed or cast and the candidate will be declared elected as a matter of law at the annual meeting or within five (5) days thereafter as provided by law.”                                 

II.        Voting upon proposed amendment to the bylaws and articles of incorporation, if necessary

III.        Reports of Officers, Directors and Committees and action thereon

             IV.       Any other business transacted which may properly come before the meeting or any adjournment                            thereof.

Jerry Fetterman, Secretary-Treasurer
Empire Electric Association, Inc.
PO Box K
Cortez, Colorado  81321

Empire Electric Association’s 2019 annual member meeting is scheduled for Thursday, June 20 at EEA’s Calvin Denton Room, which is located in our main office at 801 North Broadway, Cortez, Colorado.  Registration will begin at 4:30 p.m. and the meeting will begin at 5:30 p.m.  This will be a business meeting only.  Members who attend will get a $10 credit on their electric bill.

There are three board seats up for election this year:  District 2 (vacant), District 5 (J. Kent Lindsay, incumbent), and District 6 (David Sitton, incumbent).  Directors normally serve staggered four-year terms.  District 2 would normally not be up for election again until 2021.  However, the seat is presently vacant due to the incumbent moving out of EEA’s service territory and resigning the seat.  The winning candidate in District 2 will fill the remaining two-years left on the term.  The winning candidates in Districts 5 and 6 will serve four-year terms.

With the vacancy in District 2, the EEA board of directors used the opportunity to redraw district boundaries.  The major change is moving from an east-west division to a north-south division between Districts 1 and 2.  There were also some small boundary moves for the other districts as well.  This effort resulted in a fairly even distribution of members between the seven districts.  As of December 2018, the district with the most members has 1,880, the district with the least members has 1,740, and the average number of members per district is 1,823.   The map included with this article shows the new board district boundaries.

Districts 2, 5, and 6 are generally described as follows:

District 2

Generally, the northwest portion of the service area, including Monticello, Dove Creek, Cahone, and the northern half of Pleasant View. The eastern boundary begins at the southern midpoint edge of T39N R15W S32, and generally follows section mid-lines north until it intersects with the northern edge of the service area.  From there the district boundary traverses counterclockwise around the northern and western boundaries of the service area until it intersects the northern edge of T37S R26E.  From there the district boundary generally follows the northern edges of sequential township and range boundaries east to the point of beginning (much of this route is coincident with County Road CC).

District 5

Generally, the southwestern portion of the service area including Towaoc, and a portion of the City of Cortez. The eastern boundary is US 160/491 from the New Mexico border to its intersection with Road G.  The boundary then travels east along Road G until its intersection with Road 25.  From there, it travels north along Road 25, continuing on S Oak St then S Maple St, until its intersection with Main St.  The boundary then travels east on Main St until its intersection with Washington St, where it then travels north on Washington St until its intersection with Empire St.  The boundary then travels west on Empire St until roads end, then generally continues west along section lines and Road K until its intersection with Road 23.  From there it travels north on Road 23 to its intersection with Road L, then west on Road L and continues generally west along section lines to the midpoint of the southern edge of T36N R17W S15.  From there it travels north along section mid-lines (generally consistent with Road 18) to its intersection with Road S, then west along Road S to road’s end, and then continues west along section lines to the western edge of the service area.  From there the district boundary travels south and then east along the service area boundary to the point of beginning.

District 6

Generally, the southeastern portion of the service area including the town of Mancos. The eastern boundary is the eastern boundary of the service area. The northern boundary generally follows section mid-lines beginning at T36N R11W S18 and continues west (eventually coincident with Road L) to the mid-point of T36N R15W S17.  From there the boundary follows section mid-lines south (coincident with Road 29 for part of the route) until it intersects with Road H.  The boundary then travels west along Road H until it intersects Road 25.  From there it travels south along Road 25 to the intersection with Road G, then west along Road G to the intersection with US 160/491, and then south along US 160/491 to the southern boundary of the service area.  From there the district boundary travels east along the southern boundary of the service area to the point of beginning.

In order to serve on EEA’s seven-member board of directors, our bylaws require the following qualifications.  The director shall:

  • Be a member of the cooperative.
  • Be a bona fide resident of the district represented.
  • Be a citizen of the United States of America.
  • Be at least eighteen (18) years of age.
  • Not be an employee of the cooperative.

The new map will give you an idea if your bona fide residence is within the districts up for election this year.

Candidates may be nominated by petition only and such petitions must include the signatures of at least fifteen (15) members of the cooperative whose bona fide residences are within the candidate’s district.  Qualifying candidates may pick up a nominating petition from our main office during normal business hours.  Petitions will be available beginning on March 22, 2019 and must be submitted to EEA by May 6, 2019.  The secretary will post a list of qualifying nominees in our main office at the end of the work day on May 6, 2019.

Each member of the cooperative is entitled to one vote on all issues properly brought before the membership, including the election of directors.  Members may vote either in-person at the annual meeting or through mail-in ballots provided by the cooperative.  In order to be counted, mail-in ballots shall be received by EEA no later than 5:00 p.m. on June 14, 2019.  All members are strongly encouraged to vote.

If you have additional questions about this year’s election, annual meeting, or any other cooperative business, please give us a call at 970-565-4444 or stop by our main office at 801 North Broadway in Cortez.  We hope to see you at the meeting!